Let’s Start at the Very Beginning – A Very Good Place to Start

Isn’t answered prayer AWESOME??

We have been hoping and praying and working for just about a year on selling our log home in the country. We’ve lived here for ten years and have fixed it up gorgeously so it would look its absolute best.

House Flyer Collage

Well, just a few days ago, we signed the contract and we’re good to go! I am so excited that I could hardly sleep for the past few nights. Well – part of that could be due to getting stung by a scorpion on my arm at an ungodly hour of the morning earlier this week. Finding those little brown things crawling about the house should never be something one has to get accustomed to! Ugh! It’s not that our log home wasn’t lovely and wonderful, it is, but it certainly doesn’t work for our needs right now.

The biggest reason we are moving is location. My dad works an HOUR north of our current town, and thus he has to tack an hour on each end of his commute – therefore, he’s been getting up a five o’clock in the morning for about four years, and arriving home for a late dinner every night and falling into bed exhausted. Not cool. Another reason is that our log home is two-story, and the master bedroom is upstairs. This is not jelling with my mom’s RA – which she bravely ignores and utters not a word of complaint and pushes through constantly. (I admire her SO MUCH.) The last thing is that we are really ready to be out of this small town and up in a nicer larger one, a suburb of Atlanta. (They have things like HOBBY LOBBY. And hellooooo, Publix – I have dearly missed you!) Not to mention lots of job opportunities for me and my two brothers. We’ll all be in our twenties once Steven’s birthday happens on the 10th of October. And yes, we still live at home. You might not understand, but we’re a very closely-knit family and us kids were homeschooled all the way through high school. We actually really like each other! šŸ˜‰

I cannot wait to get started on renovating and redecorating the house on London Lane. I can’t believe we discovered that little gem. (Definitely a God-thing.) The backyard is private and gorgeous, with a lush green lawn and HUUUGE pine and oak trees. There are ornamental cherry trees and a Japanese maple on the front lawn, as well. Also, I discovered tiny wild strawberries in the grass, which I thought was too cute for words.

backyard
If you could peer at that grass up-close, you’d see the strawberries I was talking about. And the trees extend about two-thirds higher into the air (and this is only one angle of the backyard!) šŸ™‚

The inside of the house needs the most work. I have big plans, guys. More on that later. But it’s nearly all cosmetic! Paint? I can so do that. I’ve been craving to paint something for ten years – there’s no painting a home with walls that are literally logs. (Nice logs, but logs all the same). The biggest project is transforming the 2-car-size workshop building in the backyard into a Studio – a place for our necessary 4th bedroom-slash-Lego studio, and we’re adding a small bathroom and kitchenette to make it a functional apartment (and guest house, down the road.)

Anyway, I’m getting ahead of myself a little bit. But I wanted to write the monumental FIRST POST on this blog and get it started! And check out the little story I wrote for my about page if you want to read something fun. šŸ™‚

Love & Blessings,

Julia

Leave a Reply

